Skip to main content

Is Your Favorite Source of Information "Trust Me Bro"?

It's something to think about Facebook comments section, right? I can't decide if I should allow unmoderated comments. The world of comments can be so annoying these days. It's one thing if one comments for constructive criticism. However, one could really think about how many comments (even under Anonymous or troll accounts) are just there to derail. News about the Philippines' getting newer reforms such as more foreign direct investments (FDIs) have a lot of stupid comments too. I'm not surprised with comments such as, "It's Duterte's gift to China!" or "Allowing foreign telecommunication companies will risk our security!" When I ask for the sources on Facebook, I tend to get the argument that's as foolish as, "Trust me bro!" A lack of intelligence is one thing. It's another thing to ignore common sense.

This meme makes me laugh at the pyramid of learning. Okay, I have a high school diploma during K+10. I soon had an associate degree in computer science but failed to be accepted in BS Information Technology. Soon, I had a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in business administration. Sadly, it doesn't matter how many degrees people have if their favorite source can be summed up as, "Trust me bro!" That really dismisses almost everything learned from the high school diploma to master's degree. That's why it's easy to say you can have all the doctorates you want and still be a fool. Sometimes, a stupid person might be wise enough to say, "Where's your source? I can't trust your source if it's just saying trust me bro." However, we've got some highly educated people who give their best source as, "Trust me bro!" 

It might sound funny but much disinformation can be caused by three words, "Trust me bro." or "Trust me sis." if it's a woman. Regardless, I've read some comments on Youtube (hence why some Youtube videos no longer allow comments). Some comments can go like somebody died from the COVID-19 vaccine and the person was healthy. You might say, "Where's the source?" Then the person says, "Trust me bro! It did happen! You'll never get the facts from anyone but me!" 

In research, Trust Me Bro makes a poor source. Any good researcher will get details and not just Trust Me Bro. I've done my thesis and I was required to get good sources. During my MBA days, one of our teachers said that Wikipedia is a spurious source. Anybody can edit Wikipedia! Why would we want a source where it's just Trust Me Bro? Good research requires empirical data. Yet, some people would rather believe in Trust Me Bro because it's easier to do so than to search the data for yourself, right? 

That's why it's easy to say "I'm sure of it!" and "Studies show..." when you're wrong. Studies show? Where are the studies? Please point them out! It's very easy to be, "I'm sure that your book was written by an idiot!" in an act of Ad Homiem. When asked, "Where's your evidence? Did you read it?" Then the answer is, "No need to read it. Just trust me bro." If all the studies and evidences are based on Trust Me Bro" then it's nothing but idiocy. 

Popular posts from this blog

Hilario Davide Jr.'s Still Quoted by Anti-Constitutional Reform Fools on Social Media

  People can falsely accuse me of colonial mentality because I've been quoting Kishore Mahbuban over Hilario G. Davide. I'm really sorry to say but I'm seeing various Facebook posts like La Verite (and the Pinocchio really fits it ), the Rule of Law Sentinel, Silent No More PH, and many more anti-reform Facebook pages (and very ironic too) quote Davide Jr. a lot. It's straightforward to say that Davide Jr. has been the favorite source of such people. An old man with a toga (who blocked me) also often quoted Davide Jr. Also, Davide Jr. turned 88 years old last December 20. I wish I had written this earlier but sometimes it's better late than never. In my case, it's better never late.  Davide Jr. also mentioned that the 1987 Constitution is "the best in the world". It's easy to spew out words but can he defend his claims? One of his old statements went like this: It’s not change of structures, [whether] it would be federalism or parliamentary. It is...

Taiwan Aboriginal Culture Park Indigenous Bamboo Dance

This is another bamboo dance done by what I believe are Atayal dancers. The dance steps are very similar to what one might find in Nueva Ecija or any indigenous region of the Philippines. What makes it more appealing to me is the absence of Taiwanese Mandarin in the lyrics. Instead, it's lyrics that would sound like the chanting of Filipino indigenous dancers. There are similar yet different movements between Taiwanese aborigines and Filipino aborigines. The Malaysians and Indonesians have settled in several places. The dance movements between Taiwanese aborigines and Filipino aborigines are too similar to be ignored. Even the indigenous language might be very similar. 

What's the Use of Complaining About Celebrities and Political Dynasties Running for Politics While DEFENDING Presidential and Rejecting Parliamentary?

2025 is just around the corner for the midterm elections . People keep emphasizing the need to "defend the 1987 Constitution of the Philippines" for any amendments whatsoever. If that were true then we really need to remove Article XVII entirely if the 1987 Constitution of the Philippines was meant to be set in stone (read here ). Several camps whether it's PDP-Laban supporters, Liberal Party of the Philippines supporters, Uniteam supporters, etc.--I can expect social media mudslinging at its finest . I keep talking about the need to amend or even replace the 1987 Constitution of the Philippines. However, they keep acting like it's the best constitution in the world, they cite Atty. Hilario G. Davide Jr. (and others like the Monsods) to idolatrous levels , and when I talk about the parliamentary system--I can expect the whole, "Boohoo! It will never work because we already tried it under Marcos! The proof was Cesar Virata!" However, I wrote a refute on that ...

The Happy Aborigines Taiwanese Song

  While looking for an Aborigine song that gave me an earworm--I found this interesting aboriginal song. By looking at this video, I suspect that this song is actually a love song between a man and a woman,. It does sound very Ifugao-like as well. 

"Give Up Tomorrow" Deleted Scene: The Safehouse Where the Crime Supposedly Took Place

Give Up Tomorrow has been an interesting documentary. Why I was fascinated by it because of how it shook my mind. It turned out that it was a trial by publicity . It was also at that time when The Calvento Files aired a dramatization of Davidson Rusia's testimony. As Cebu City Vice Mayor Raymond Alvin Garcia said, it was a very unpopular move. People already thought Juan Francisco G. LarraƱaga aka Paco (and the seven others) were guilty. People thought Davidson's story was worth believing. Some deleted scenes never made it into the final cut  This deleted scene talks about the owner of the place where the crime allegedly happened. David Gurkan now recalls his experience. According to Davidson, this was the story as recorded by the Supreme Court of the Philippines:  From the evidence of the prosecution, there is no doubt that all the appellants conspired in the commission of the crimes charged. Their concerted actions point to their joint purpose and community of intent. Well s...